2017-18 Turner Fellows Announced

Posted: April 13, 2017


Franklin Road Academy recently announced the 2017-18 Turner Fellowship Interns. Congratulations to Alex May, Emily Herbert, Libby Weicker, Laurel Dernbach, Claire Luthy, Elizabeth Day, Sarah Nance, Max Beavers, Kyle Crudele, Julianna Alexander, Caroline Carter, and Hayley Fuller. These rising seniors, who are committed to making a difference in the lives of others, have been selected to serve with a nonprofit organization within the Nashville community for six weeks during the summer.

Director of The Center for Philanthropic Studies Brenda Huff celebrates the spirit of generosity and love that is shared through this program. "Each year our Turner Fellows represent the FRA mission, serving as ambassadors for our academy across the city. We are fortunate to have great community partners who provide rich work experiences. It is so inspiring to see the impact our interns have at the places where they serve as well as the impact that the people at those places have on our interns."

Since 2003, the Cal Turner Family Foundation has sponsored more than 90 students through the Turner Fellowship Program, recognizing exemplary scholars with integrity, balance, and a strong commitment to community service. After completing their paid internships this summer, the Turner Fellows are eligible for a Turner Scholarship to the college of their choice. Each organization in which the fellows serve will also receive a financial contribution donated in honor of the Turner Fellow.

Last Updated: April 13, 2017